RJR News / Voting is now underway in Jamaica’s three parliamentary by-elections.

The polls are being conducted in the constituencies of St. Mary South Eastern, St. Andrew Southern, and St. Andrew South Western.

The polls close at 5 o’clock and the Electoral Office of Jamaica expects to be able to announce the results by 7.30.

National attention has been focused mainly on the St. Mary contest where Dr. Norman Dunn of the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) and Dr. Shane Alexis of the People’s National Party (PNP) are the two candidates.

In the general election on February 25, 2016, Dr. Dunn lost by only five votes to the PNP’s Dr. Winston Green. Dr. Green died suddenly in August this year, triggering the calling of that by-election.

The electronic voting system will be used in St. Andrew Southern and St. Andrew South Western. The candidates in St. Andrew Southern are the PNP’s Mark Golding and the JLP’s Dane Dennis. The PNP’s Angela Brown Burke and the JLP’s Victor Hyde are the candidates in St. Andrew South Western.              


View all posts