Jamaica Gleaner / Jamaica was among six Caribbean countries that decided to withhold their votes on the United Nations resolution to declare as “null and void”, President Donald Trump’s recognition of Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

Six other countries from the region voted in favour of the resolution and two were absent.

In total, 128 UN member countries voted in favour of the resolution, nine against and 35 abstained resulting in what the Palestinian are calling a victory for them.

Caribbean Roll Call

IN FAVOUR Barbados Cuba Dominica Grenada Guyana

St Vincent and the Grenadines

ABSTAIN Antigua and Barbuda Bahamas Dominican Republic Haiti Jamaica Trinidad and Tobago

ABSENT St Kitts and Nevis St Lucia

IN PHOTO: Full list of UN member countries and their votes

THE RESOLUTION: Today’s resolution demanded that “all States comply with Security Council resolutions regarding the Holy City of Jerusalem, and not recognise any actions or measures contrary to those resolutions.”

The General Assembly further affirmed that “any decisions and actions which purport to have altered the character, status or demographic composition of the Holy City of Jerusalem have no legal effect, are null and void and must be rescinded in compliance with relevant resolutions of the Security Council.”

In that regard the Assembly also called upon all States to refrain from the establishment of diplomatic missions in the Holy City of Jerusalem, pursuant to Security Council resolution 478 adopted in 1980.

Reiterating its call for the reversal of the negative trends that endanger the two-State solution, the Assembly urged greater international and regional efforts and support aimed at achieving, without delay, a comprehensive, just and lasting peace in the Middle East.


View all posts