Breaking News

Murray moves on in QPCC ping pong


Trinidad Express / FORMER West Indies cricketer Deryck Murray advanced to the knockout phase when the QPCC (Queen Park Cricket Club) Annual Hamper Table Tennis Tournament served off Monday night at the club’s Indoor Racquet Centre, Queen Park Oval, St Clair. Players have been placed in four groups in both the A and C divisions and the four-day round-robin action will conclude tomorrow night. The top four players from the each first division group as well as the top two from the third division groups will compete for the titles on Friday night. QPCC president Murray was one of the two players who advanced from his group in the Division C competition on Monday night, while last year’s runner-up Gerry Prudent was one of the four who came out of his group in Division A action. Merle Bagoo is the only woman in the tournament, but the 1964 national champion has won the last four QPCC tournaments she contested, including this one without breaking a sweat last year. The 70-year-old is the fifth-ranked female player in the country, but she believes that teenager Alec Walcott is the player to beat. Also included in the A-division field is Stuart Morales Alva Mendes, Edward Moses and QPCC Table Tennis Club president Wayne Dobson, who won the QPCC Annual Tournament when Baggoo was in Canada on national duty in the middle of the year.

About the author / 


Related Posts

North America



Latin America